The Board

The Foundation is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors consisting of community and business leaders from Costa Mesa, many of whom are also Estancia and TeWinkle alumni, parents or grandparents. The principals of both Estancia and TeWinkle sit on the Foundation Board as nonvoting advisors.

The Board actively fundraises for the Foundation. The purpose of this fundraising is twofold: to increase the size of the endowment, with a resulting increase in interest income available for distribution through annual grants, and to bring in additional new donations wholly available for annual grant making. The Foundation’s long-term goal is to build the endowment to $3,000,000. An endowment of that size will ensure continued funding for generous annual grants to enhance education at Estancia and TeWinkle.


President – Jennifer Knapp
Secretary – Bill Thorpe
Treasurer – Karen Barloon
Vice President – Joan Oliver

Board Members:

Jennifer Knapp
Karen Barloon
Hydee Beth
Michele Graham
Cathi Hartwell
Ann Lyons
Joan Oliver
Robin Mensinger
Linda Tenno
Jennifer Sweet


TeWinkle Principal: Kira Hurst
Estancia Principal: Kirk Bauermeister